MIVA AUSTRIA

MIVA Austria is a relief organisation of the Catholic Church. The name arises from “Missionary Vehicle Association”. This long term is no longer used nowadays. Since its foundation MIVA has served the Catholic mission and supports the fight against poverty and underdevelopment. Mission means: work for the gospel – the bright message, which means the whole human being. In Europe it is impossible to imagine a priest or a doctor without a vehicle – all the more so in sparsely populated areas in Africa or Latin America in which parishes are often as large as Austrian provinces. In these areas it has to be the right vehicles – marsh in rainy season, dust in the dry season, deep pot holes, fords through the river, high grass in the savannah or low hanging branches on the jungle paths all create a big challenge. For every project MIVA selects the most suitable vehicle. It can also be a bicycle or a motorbike, a boat, a tractor, a lorry or also a small aeroplane. Even mules, oxen and elephants are financed by MIVA. MIVA does not restrict its aid to one region on Earth. Latin America, Africa, Asia, Oceania, South and South East Europe: wherever project partners make a request for a means of transportation which is under the responsibility of MIVA – the request is checked and assisted if the financial resources of MIVA allow it. As a result there is a big network of solidarity and in many cases also friendship from Stadl-Paura to partners in the whole world.

It all began with the death of a missionary. The German priest Otto Furhmann OMI died as a missionary in the north of Namibia after falling ill with tropical fever. He could have survived but the nearest hospital was several day marches away. A friend of Fuhrmann who was known as “Flying Priest” all over Germany and further afield – the missionary of the oblates Paul Schulte – decided as a result of this incident to provide the missionaries with vehicles and also with a means of communication to increase their mobility and further to raise their chances of survival. In 1927 he founded the Missionary Vehicle Association. The idea of MIVA was born: technical support for mission and development, wheels of hope for ways out of misery.

In Austria there was a man who was very enthusiastic about Priest Schulte and his MIVA idea : already during the war Karl Kumpfmüller from Stadl-Paura started to distribute MIVA-advertising material and to inform people about the work of MIVA. As a result of his enthusiasm the Austrian bishops` conference decided on the foundation of the Austrian MIVA as a relief organisation of the Catholic Church. On 22nd October 1949 MIVA Austria was launched in the monastery of Lambach. Karl Kumpfmüller was its first and long lasting director.

12 bicycles for missionary use could be blessed at the foundation of MIVA. However the number of donations for the young relief organisation rose continuously from the beginning. MIVA director Karl Kumpfmüller encouraged the Catholic Children’s Movement to reinitiate the old tradition of the carol singers. In the first years MIVA received all the proceeds from the carol singing campaign and nowadays also receives a considerable sum out of its income. As soon as the carol singing campaign became independent and supported its own projects, Karl Kumpfmüller put his “penny idea” into effect. For each kilometre driven without an accident the drivers should give one penny for MIVA work. The Christophorus Campaign was born. Until today MIVA has financed more than 26.600 vehicles from this campaign.

With projects in over 60 countries MIVA is of course an internationally operating organisation. From Stadl-Paura MIVA is literally communicating with the whole world. The idea of MIVA has also become known internationally in the meantime. In many countries it has simply been picked up. For this reason MIVA is in a double sense international.

MIVA Germany was founded in 1927 and was converted into the “Diaspora MIVA” after the war. However at this time the MIVA idea had already crossed the borders. From Germany the MIVA Switzerland arose in 1932 and in 1935 the MIVA Netherlands. The colleagues of MIVA Netherlands initiated the MIVA USA which was founded in 1971. The Austrian MIVA was founded on 22nd October 1949. The following MIVA organisations were founded from Austria: Great Britain (1974), South Korea (1981), Slovenia (1987), Slovakia (1998), Poland (2000) and Australia (2002). Starting from MIVA MIVA Slovenia the MIVA Croatia (2012) and the MIVA Bosnia (2015) were founded. Consequently the international MIVA family comprises 13 national organisations at the moment.

MAG. (FH) CHRISTINE PARZER

MAG. (FH) CHRISTINE PARZER
Managing Director
+43 7245 / 28945-41
c.parzer@miva.at

BIRGIT GRUBER

BIRGIT GRUBER
Assistant of the Managing Director for public relations, administration of donations and support for donators; press contact

+43 7245 / 28945-44
b.gruber@miva.at

VERENA BAMMER

VERENA BAMMER
Educational work
+43 7245 / 28945-44 v.bammer@miva.at

MARIA NIEDERMAIR-AUER

MARIA NIEDERMAIR-AUER
Administration of donations
+43 7245 / 28945-45
m.niedermair-auer@miva.at

REGINA HEMETSBERGER

REGINA HEMETSBERGER
Project coordinator for Africa +43 7245 / 28945-43 r.hemetsberger@miva.at

ALEXANDRA SALMHOFER

ALEXANDRA SALMHOFER
Project coordinator for Latin America
+43 7245 / 28945-48
a.salmhofer@miva.at

ANGELIKA WALLNER

ANGELIKA WALLNER
Office Manager, Project coordinator for Asia, Oceania and Europe +43 7245 / 28945-40 a.wallner@miva.at

ANDREA EDER

ANDREA EDER
Accountant, administration of donations
+43 7245 / 28945-47
a.eder@miva.at

MICHAELA PENNINGER

MICHAELA PENNINGER
Housekeeping stuff

MIVA AUSTRIA

Die MIVA Austria (Missionsverkehrsarbeitsgemeinschaft) ist ein Hilfswerk der katholischen Kirche. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, für junge Kirchen und Projekte der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit Fahrzeuge zu beschaffen: je nach Bedarf PKW oder Geländewagen, Motorräder, Fahrräder, Traktoren, landwirtschaftliche Geräte, fallweise auch Boote oder kleine Schiffe, Flugzeuge oder Lasttiere. Während Europa oft an zu viel Verkehr leidet und vor allem auf Autobahnen lange Stauzeiten in Kauf genommen werden, fehlt es vielen Menschen in den ärmsten Ländern an Mobilität. Umso mehr müssen Priester, Schwestern, Entwicklungshelfer und medizinisches Personal mobil sein. Die Idee der MIVA lautet daher: Auch Mobilität ist teilbar. Vom europäischen Überfluss kann man denen etwas geben, die es brauchen. Der Dank für unfallfreies Fahren lässt sich mit internationaler Solidarität verbinden. Die MIVA beschränkt ihre Hilfeleistung nicht auf eine Region der Erde. Lateinamerika, Afrika, Asien, Ozeanien, Süd- und Südosteuropa: Wo immer Projektpartner ein Ansuchen stellen, das in die Zuständigkeit der MIVA fällt, wird es geprüft und nach Maßgabe der vorhandenen Mittel gefördert. So spannt sich von Stadl-Paura aus zu Partnern in aller Welt längst ein Netz der Solidarität und in vielen Fällen auch der Freundschaft.

Alles begann mit dem Tod eines Missionars. Der deutsche Pater Otto Fuhrmann OMI starb als Missionar im Norden Namibias, nachdem er an einem tropischen Fieber erkrankt war. Man hätte ihn retten können, aber das nächste Spital war Tagesmärsche entfernt. Fuhrmanns Freund aus Studienzeiten, der als „Fliegender Pater“ weit über Deutschland hinaus bekannte Oblatenmissionar Paul Schulte, fasste daraufhin den Entschluss, die Missionare mit Fahrzeugen, aber auch mit Kommunikationseinrichtungen zu versorgen, um ihre Mobilität und damit ihre Überlebenschancen zu erhöhen. 1927 gründete er die Missions-Verkehrs-Arbeitsgemeinschaft. Die MIVA-Idee war geboren: technische Unterstützung für Mission und Entwicklung, Räder der Hoffnung für Wege aus dem Elend.

In Österreich war ein Mann von Pater Schulte und seiner MIVA-Idee besonders begeistert: Karl Kumpfmüller aus Stadl-Paura begann noch während des Krieges Werbematerial für die MIVA zu verteilen und über ihren Einsatz zu informieren. Auf sein Betreiben hin beschloss die österreichische Bischofskonferenz die Gründung der österreichischen MIVA als ein Hilfswerk der katholischen Kirche. Am 22. Oktober 1949 wurde die MIVA Austria im Stift Lambach feierlich aus der Taufe gehoben. Karl Kumpfmüller war ihr erster und langjähriger Direktor.

12 Fahrräder für die Mission konnten bei der Gründung der MIVA gesegnet werden. Aber der Spendenumsatz des jungen Hilfswerks wuchs von Anfang an kräftig. MIVA-Direktor Karl Kumpfmüller regte bei der Katholischen Jungschar die Wiederbelebung des alten Sternsinger-Brauches an. Die MIVA erhielt in den ersten Jahren den gesamten Erlös aus der Dreikönigsaktion und erhält bis heute eine namhafte Summe aus ihren Erträgen. Als sich die Dreikönigsaktion dann selbstständig machte und begann, eigene Projekte zu unterstützen, verwirklichte Karl Kumpfmüller seine geniale „Groschen-Idee“. Für jeden unfallfreien Kilometer sollten die Autofahrer einen Groschen für die MIVA-Arbeit beisteuern. Die ChristophorusAktion war geboren. Bis heute hat die MIVA über 26.600 Fahrzeuge finanziert.

Mit Projekten in über sechzig Ländern ist die MIVA selbstverständlich eine international tätige Organisation. Von Stadl-Paura aus ist sie buchstäblich mit der ganzen Welt in Kontakt. Aber auch die MIVA-Idee selbst ist mittlerweile international. In zahlreichen Ländern wurde sie aufgegriffen. Die MIVA ist somit in doppeltem Sinn international.

Die MIVA Deutschland wurde 1927 gegründet und nach dem Krieg in die „Diaspora-MIVA“ umgewandelt. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte die MIVA-Idee die Grenzen jedoch bereits überschritten. Von Deutschland ausgehend entstand 1932 die MIVA Schweiz und 1935 die MIVA Niederlande. Die niederländischen Kollegen waren die Geburtshelfer der MIVA USA, die 1971 gegründet wurde. Am 22. Oktober 1949 wurde die MIVA Österreich ins Leben gerufen. Von Österreich aus wurden die MIVA Großbritannien (1974), die MIVA Südkorea (1981), die MIVA Slowenien (1987), die MIVA Slowakei (1998), die MIVA Polen (2000) sowie die MIVA Australien (2002) gegründet. Ausgehend von MIVA Slowenien wurden die MIVA Kroatien (2012) und die MIVA Bosnien (2015) gegründet. Die internationale MIVA-Familie umfasst somit derzeit 13 nationale Organisationen.

MAG. (FH) CHRISTINE PARZER

MAG. (FH) CHRISTINE PARZER
Geschäftsführerin
+43 7245 / 28945-41
c.parzer@miva.at

BIRGIT GRUBER

BIRGIT GRUBER
Assistentin der GF für Bildungs- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Spendenverwaltung und Spender-Innenbetreuung, Pressekontakt
+43 7245 / 28945-44
b.gruber@miva.at

PATRIZIA BUCHINGER

PATRIZIA BUCHINGER
Büroleitung, Projektreferentin für Asien, Ozeanien und Europa
+43 7245 / 28945-40
p.buchinger@miva.at

ALEXANDRA SALMHOFER

ALEXANDRA SALMHOFER
Projektreferentin für Lateinamerika
+43 7245 / 28945-48
a.salmhofer@miva.at

MAG. REGINA HEMETSBERGER

MAG. REGINA HEMETSBERGER
Projektreferentin für Afrika
+43 7245 / 28945-43
r.hemetsberger@miva.at

MARIA NIEDERMAIR-AUER

MARIA NIEDERMAIR-AUER
Spendenverwalterin und Assistentin der Spender-Innenbetreuung
+43 7245 / 28945-45
m.niedermair-auer@miva.at

ANDREA EDER

ANDREA EDER
Buchhaltung
+43 7245 / 28945-47
a.eder@miva.at

MICHAELA PENNINGER

MICHAELA PENNINGER

Reinigungskraft

VERENA BAMMER

VERENA BAMMER
Bildungsarbeit
+43 7245 / 28945-46 v.bammer@miva.at